By Your Side by Kasie West
By Your Side
by Kasie West
Published by HarperTeen
on January 31st 2017
Genres: Romance, Young Adult, YA, Fiction
Pages: 352
Goodreads

 

In this irresistible story, Kasie West explores the timeless question of what to do when you fall for the person you least expect. Witty and romantic, this paperback original from a fan favorite is perfect for fans of Stephanie Perkins and Morgan Matson.

When Autumn Collins finds herself accidentally locked in the library for an entire weekend, she doesn’t think things could get any worse. But that’s before she realizes that Dax Miller is locked in with her. Autumn doesn’t know much about Dax except that he’s trouble. Between the rumors about the fight he was in (and that brief stint in juvie that followed it) and his reputation as a loner, he’s not exactly the ideal person to be stuck with. Still, she just keeps reminding herself that it is only a matter of time before Jeff, her almost-boyfriend, realizes he left her in the library and comes to rescue her.

Only he doesn’t come. No one does.

Instead it becomes clear that Autumn is going to have to spend the next couple of days living off vending-machine food and making conversation with a boy who clearly wants nothing to do with her. Except there is more to Dax than meets the eye. As he and Autumn first grudgingly, and then not so grudgingly, open up to each other, Autumn is struck by their surprising connection. But can their feelings for each other survive once the weekend is over and Autumn’s old life, and old love interest, threaten to pull her from Dax’s side?


I received a review copy of this book from the publisher, this does not influence my thoughts on the book or this review.

I’m a huge fan of Kasie West and libraries so when I heard that her latest release was a romance in which the main characters get stuck in a library together, I knew I had to read it. While I did like By Your Side, I wasn’t a big fan of the plot and I think the romance had a lot more potential.

Autumn is stuck in a library, and of course the only person there with her all weekend is Dax, a guy she knows little about except for some choice rumours. As they spend time together, they quickly form a connection. By Your Side is about what happens when you unexpectedly fall for someone you didn’t expect to connect with.

The plot was definitely fast-paced, even if I did not like all the elements of it. It seemed like Dax and Autumn spent way too few time in the library, and I didn’t really like the elements that discussed another one of Autumn’s possible love interests. Despite the plot moving quickly, I didn’t find it that romantic. The twists felt a little dull and there was not nearly enough cute moments between Dax and Autumn.

I definitely think By Your Side had great characterization. I really connected to Autumn and I felt that she was pretty well-developed. The discussion of Autumn’s anxiety was great and I am definitely eager to read more reviews from readers who can speak to the representation of anxiety. Dax probably could’ve had a little bit more characterization but I did like him overall as a love interest.

Overall, I did like the characters in By Your Side but I think the plot, and in particular the romantic elements, could’ve had more development.

1 thought on “By Your Side by Kasie West”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge