Alternate History Steampunk: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

Alternate History Steampunk: Timekeeper by Tara SimTimekeeper by Tara Sim
Series: Timekeeper #1
Published by Sky Pony Press on November 1st 2016
Genres: Historical Fiction, Young Adult, YA, Steampunk, LGBTQIA
Pages: 368
Goodreads

Two o’clock was missing.

In an alternate Victorian world controlled by clock towers, a damaged clock can fracture time—and a destroyed one can stop it completely.

It’s a truth that seventeen-year-old clock mechanic Danny Hart knows all too well; his father has been trapped in a Stopped town east of London for three years. Though Danny is a prodigy who can repair not only clockwork, but the very fabric of time, his fixation with staging a rescue is quickly becoming a concern to his superiors.

And so they assign him to Enfield, a town where the tower seems to be forever plagued with problems. Danny’s new apprentice both annoys and intrigues him, and though the boy is eager to work, he maintains a secretive distance. Danny soon discovers why: he is the tower’s clock spirit, a mythical being that oversees Enfield’s time. Though the boys are drawn together by their loneliness, Danny knows falling in love with a clock spirit is forbidden, and means risking everything he’s fought to achieve.

But when a series of bombings at nearby towers threaten to Stop more cities, Danny must race to prevent Enfield from becoming the next target or he’ll not only lose his father, but the boy he loves, forever.

The stunning first novel in a new trilogy by debut author Tara Sim, Timekeeper is perfect for fans of Cassandra Clare and Victoria Schwab.

I received a copy of this book for review from the publisher. This does not influence my review or thoughts on the book.

When I heard about Timekeeper, I knew I had to read it. I’m not a big fan of historical fiction but the steampunk elements definitely intrigued me. I’m so very happy to report that Timekeeper surpassed my expectations and it is definitely a novel I feel comfortable recommending to all.

Danny is a timekeeper, a mechanic response for keeping the clocks in the London-area running smoothly. When Danny meets a ghost spirit, named Colton, mysteries about his past and his future merge. As Danny and the spirit go closer, so does the danger surrounding their relationship. As Danny starts to learn more about his father’s disappearance, his happy future with may end before it really starts. Danny must fight for his family, his relationship and for his profession.

The plot of Timekeeper was fast-paced and action-packed. It really flew by! I am a bit surprised that this novel is the first in a trilogy, as I found that this first book had a really complete narrative arc. That said, I do love the characters so much and I would totally want to read more about what they’re up to next!

I also really enjoyed the romance, as the connection between Danny and the clock spirit was so genuine, they were the sweetest couple. Colton and Danny both deeply cared about each other and it was wonderful to read about their sweet and maybe idealistic relationship.

In terms of the historical fiction elements, I loved the addition of steampunk. I also really liked that the author bended convention a bit surrounding gay relationships and women in the workplace. I also thought that the author’s note was great, as Sim noted that she wanted Danny to be out before the events of the novel.

Overall, Timekeeper was a wonderful debut novel with great characters and a fast-paced plot. I highly recommend it!

shelly sig

More about Shelly

Shelly Z is a reader, writer and blogger. She works for Adventures in YA Publishing, a 101 best site for writers selected by Writer’s Digest, and is a blogger at Read.Sleep.Repeat. She rants as much as she reads. You can find her on twitter at @shellysrambles.

One thought on “Alternate History Steampunk: Timekeeper by Tara Sim

  1. Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally

    I have an ARC of this I need to read but I am reading super slow lately. I’m starting it next though so I’m glad to hear you loved it.
    Cassi @ My Thoughts Literally recently posted…Audiobook Review: A Tyranny of Petticoats Edited by Jessica SpotswoodMy Profile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge