proxy series

Over the weekend, I read PROXY on an impulse and I’m so happy I did. This series is now added to my top recommendations list and I think everyone will enjoy it! But first.. more about the series:

Proxy (Proxy, #1)Proxy by Alex London
June 18th 2013

Knox was born into one of the City’s wealthiest families. A Patron, he has everything a boy could possibly want—the latest tech, the coolest clothes, and a Proxy to take all his punishments. When Knox breaks a vase, Syd is beaten. When Knox plays a practical joke, Syd is forced to haul rocks. And when Knox crashes a car, killing one of his friends, Syd is branded and sentenced to death.

Syd is a Proxy. His life is not his own.

Then again, neither is Knox’s. Knox and Syd have more in common than either would guess. So when Knox and Syd realize that the only way to beat the system is to save each other, they flee. Yet Knox’s father is no ordinary Patron, and Syd is no ordinary Proxy. The ensuing cross-country chase will uncover a secret society of rebels, test both boys’ resolve, and shine a blinding light onto a world of those who owe and those who pay. Some debts, it turns out, cannot be repaid.

Guardian (Proxy, #2)Guardian by Alex London
May 29th 2014

The pulse-pounding sequel to Proxy! Inspired by The Whipping Boy and Feed, this adrenaline-fueled thriller will appeal to fans of The Hunger Games and Divergent.

In the new world led by the Rebooters, former Proxy Syd is the figurehead of the Revolution, beloved by some and hated by others. Liam, a seventeen-year-old Rebooter, is Syd’s bodyguard and must protect him with his life. But armed Machinists aren’t the only danger.

People are falling ill—their veins show through their skin, they find it hard to speak, and sores erupt all over their bodies. Guardians, the violent enforcers of the old system, are hit first, and the government does nothing to help. The old elites fall next, and in the face of an indifferent government, Syd decides it’s up to him to find a cure . . . and what he discovers leaves him stunned.

This heart-stopping thriller is packed with action, adventure, and heroics. Guardian will leave you breathless until the final page.

A fast-paced, thrill-ride of novel full of non-stop action, heart-hammering suspense and true friendship—just as moving as it is exhilarating. Fans of Anthony Horowitz’s Alex Rider series, James Dashner’s Maze Runner, Patrick Ness’s Chaos Walking series, and Marie Lu’s Legend trilogy will be swept away by this story.

I kept hearing great things about Proxy so when I found myself with some free time to read a few library books, I knew I had to pick it up. I am so happy to report that this duology was amazing and totally great.

Proxy takes place in a future where everything is run on credits. People not born in a lucky situation are born with debt, debt that rich people can buy and expend for their own pleasure. As a Proxy, Syd has been attempting to survive his debt. For every mistake that his Patron makes, Syd is punished. But when Knox, Syd’s patron, accidentally kills someone, it goes too far. Through a coincidence, the two meet and plan their escape. What they learn along the way could change not only their lives but their very world.

I honestly don’t know what to say more than this wonderful duology is engaging, fast-paced, diverse, and thrilling. I highly recommend it, especially for readers looking for a great new series.

shelly sig

1 thought on “Duology Review: the Proxy series by Alex London”

  1. I read the first book, Proxy, years ago. I think when it was released! I truly loved it then. I thought it was such a fun book, especially with the LGBT aspect as well. I don’t know why I didn’t continue when the second one was released… Now I feel like it’s been so long though! I should really re-read Proxy and then read Guardian. Thank you for writing this review and reminding me of this one 😀
    Jolien @ The Fictional Reader recently posted…Biweekly Wrap Up | What I Read on VacationMy Profile

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge