When We Collided by Emery Lord
When We Collided
by Emery Lord
Published by Bloomsbury USA Children
on April 5th 2016
Genres: Fiction, Young Adult, Contemporary, YA, Romance
Pages: 352
Goodreads

 

Meet Vivi and Jonah: A girl and a boy whose love has the power save or destroy them.

Vivi and Jonah couldn't be more different. Vivi craves anything joyful or beautiful that life can offer. Jonah has been burdened by responsibility for his family ever since his father died. As summer begins, Jonah resigns himself to another season of getting by. Then Vivi arrives, and suddenly life seems brighter and better. Jonah is the perfect project for Vivi, and things finally feel right for Jonah. Their love is the answer to everything. But soon Vivi's zest for life falters, as her adventurousness becomes true danger-seeking. Jonah tries to keep her safe, but there's something important Vivi hasn't told him.

Perfect for fans of E. Lockhart and Jandy Nelson, When We Collided is a powerful story of two teens whose love is put to the test by forces beyond their control.


I received a copy of this book for review, this does not influence my thoughts on the book or this review.

I loved Emery Lord’s debut so when I heard she had another novel releasing, this one dealing with mental health, I knew I had to read it. And oh, I was not disappointed at all.

When We Collided is a novel about Vivi and Jonah, and the summer they met. Jonah is still recovering from is father’s death and Vivi is trying to forget her past. When the two meet, their worlds collide. When We Collided is a novel about summer romance, the way your world can change through one person, and the complexities of life.

I really enjoyed When We Collided and it’s no doubt because of the characters. Vivi is a hurricane; passionate, fierce and wildly independent. I loved reading from her point of view and I could picture her so vividly (pun intended?).

I also loved reading from Jonah’s point of view, and his commitment to his family is something I can really relate to. With his father gone, Jonah is now almost like a parent to his younger siblings. Sharing the responsibilities with his older siblings, Jonah is trying to make the most of the situation. If I’m being honest, I definitely got more emotional when reading from Jonah’s point of view, his voice resonated with me more deeply and I could totally relate to his family and their closeness.

The romance between Jonah and Vivi was phenomenal. It was a little bit intense, a little bit steamy and all kinds of sweet. It was definitely fast-paced but the character’s personalities provided no hints of an ungenuine connection. I just totally loved them together.

When We Collided also addressed depression and bipolar disorder. Based on the author’s note, Emery Lord writes from her own perspective which I thought was a bonus, #ownvoices books, especially when it comes to mental health issues, are super important because there is no one experience that sums up what depression means. The author’s note makes it super clear and also provides resources for further reading and help.

Overall, When We Collided was a phenomenal novel that I highly recommend to everyone. It was beautifully written with unique voices and a wonderful romance.

shelly sig

1 thought on “When We Collided by Emery Lord”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge