The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley FitzpatrickThe Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick
Published by Dial on August 18th 2015
Genres: Contemporary, Romance, Young Adult, YA
Pages: 432
Goodreads

A surprising, utterly romantic companion to My Life Next Door—great for fans of Sarah Dessen and Jenny Han

Tim Mason was The Boy Most Likely To find the liquor cabinet blindfolded, need a liver transplant, and drive his car into a house

Alice Garrett was The Girl Most Likely To . . . well, not date her little brother’s baggage-burdened best friend, for starters.

For Tim, it wouldn’t be smart to fall for Alice. For Alice, nothing could be scarier than falling for Tim. But Tim has never been known for making the smart choice, and Alice is starting to wonder if the “smart” choice is always the right one. When these two crash into each other, they crash hard.

Then the unexpected consequences of Tim’s wild days come back to shock him. He finds himself in a situation that isn’t all it appears to be, that he never could have predicted . . . but maybe should have.

And Alice is caught in the middle.

Told in Tim’s and Alice’s distinctive, disarming, entirely compelling voices, this novel is for readers of The Spectacular Now, Nick and Norah’s Infinite Playlist, and Paper Towns.

I borrowed a copy of this book from my library, this does not influence my thoughts on the book or this review.

While I didn’t like My Life Next Door, I did like Tim’s character in the novel and when I heard he had his own novel, I had to read it! I actually enjoyed this novel more than the first book, and I know that fans of the first novel will definitely enjoy this one as well.

The Boy Most Likely To is about Tim, the boy most likely to get drop out of high school, knock some girl up and spend his days as an alcoholic. Given an ultimatum by his father and a temporary place to crash with his best friend, Tim is aiming to fix his ways and prove everyone wrong. Tim doesn’t expect to fall for Alice, his best friend’s older sister and Alice doesn’t expect to fall for him. But when Tim’s past comes back to haunt him, he has to figure out what this means for himself and his future.

I enjoyed the plot of The Boy Most Likely To and I was surprised by how twisty it was! Most contemporaries I read are fairly dramatic, but only to a certain extent and The Boy Most Likely To definitely surprised me, since I found My Life Next Door to be a bit predictable. I really enjoyed the romance and while it was a bit fast-paced, I thought it was really sweet and adorable.

I think those who’ve read My Life Next Door will definitely enjoy this novel because it explores more of the Garrett’s family situation and we do get an update about the other relationships found in the first book.

Overall, The Boy Most Likely To was a romantic and surprisingly complex novel that I recommend. It definitely explores some darker themes than the first novel and really builds on the characters within the first novel. If you haven’t read My Life Next Door, don’t worry, you’ll still be able to understand the plot of this novel and perhaps it’ll interest you enough to read the first book in the series!

shelly sig

More about Shelly

Shelly Z is a reader, writer and blogger. She works for Adventures in YA Publishing, a 101 best site for writers selected by Writer’s Digest, and is a blogger at Read.Sleep.Repeat. She rants as much as she reads. You can find her on twitter at @shellysrambles.

2 thoughts on “The Boy Most Likely To by Huntley Fitzpatrick

  1. Lekeisha

    Everyone seems to love this series. I really need to borrow book one from my library. Nice review!
    Lekeisha recently posted…My True Love Gave To Me: Twelve Holiday Stories @GriffinTeenMy Profile

    Reply

  2. Milka@ReadReadRead

    I wasn’t a huge fan of My Life Next Door, but I am definitely interested about this one, since Tim was one of the high points of MLND. Thanks for the review – I need to see if my local library has this one so I can read it 🙂
    Milka@ReadReadRead recently posted…Stacking the Shelves (#41)My Profile

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge