Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

Roller Girl by Victoria JamiesonRoller Girl by Victoria Jamieson
Published by Dial on March 10th 2015
Genres: Graphic Novels, Middle Grade
Pages: 240
Goodreads

For fans of Raina Telgemeier’s Smile, a heartwarming graphic novel about friendship and surviving junior high through the power of roller derby.

Twelve-year-old Astrid has always done everything with her best friend Nicole. So when Astrid signs up for roller derby camp, she assumes Nicole will too. But Nicole signs up for dance camp with a new friend instead, and so begins the toughest summer of Astrid's life. There are bumps and bruises as Astrid learns who she is without Nicole...and what it takes to be a strong, tough roller girl.

I borrowed this book from the library, it does not influence my thoughts on the book or this review.

I love reading graphic novels and I find that middle-grade ones are some of more fun ones and once I heard great things about Roller Girl, I knew I had to read it.

Roller Girl is about Astrid and her quest to become a roller derby champion. The novel chronicles the summer that Astrid first starts to learn to roller derby and the challenges of it. It also tackles topics of friendship and what it means to grow apart.

The plot was very interesting and I can see any middle grade reader relating to it, even if they don’t like roller skating. Also, the facts about roller derby seemed accurate which I really enjoyed. The art style (as you can probably tell from the cover) was amazing and I really liked it.

Overall, Roller Girl was a very interesting middle grade graphic novel that I highly recommend, especially for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Erin Faith Hicks!

shelly sig

More about Shelly

Shelly Z is a reader, writer and blogger. She works for Adventures in YA Publishing, a 101 best site for writers selected by Writer’s Digest, and is a blogger at Read.Sleep.Repeat. She rants as much as she reads. You can find her on twitter at @shellysrambles.

2 thoughts on “Roller Girl by Victoria Jamieson

  1. Lekeisha

    When I first saw the cover, I thought of the movie Whip It, with Ellen Page. Looks like a cute book. Thanks for sharing!
    Lekeisha recently posted…Rebel Spring by Morgan RhodesMy Profile

    Reply

    1. Shelly

      Honestly, I read this book because I love that Ellen page movie! I hope you read it, it’s a fun story!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

CommentLuv badge